• Home
  • News
  • Happy LGBTQI new year from Stonewall!

Happy LGBTQI new year from Stonewall!

January 01, 2018 3:11 PM | Anne Marks

December 22, 2017

Dear Members,

Happy Holidays and New Year! 2017 marked East Bay Stonewall Democratic Club 35 years of advocacy for equality. The LGBTQI community has accomplished a great deal over the past  35 years and we see that locally as well. We are thrilled that two of our most visible LGBTQI elected officials are now serving as mayors in the East Bay. John Bauters, Mayor of Emeryville, and Gabriel Quinto, Mayor of El Cerrito. John and Gabriel will serve in their respective roles for the next year. We know they will represent our community well and stand firm for our rights.

Unfortunately, this year has also been challenging given the national political climate. While we saw some great victories (yay Danica and Doug!), the LGBTQI community has been targeted both through policy, judicial bench confirmations and political appointees in opposition to our rights and the fight for full equality. Now more than ever, it’s important that we join hands and stand united as we lift each other up and pursue progressive and inclusive policies. Stonewall is helping to lead that charge. Here’s a partial list of how we represented and advocated on your behalf in 2017:

  • Hosted the 5th Annual East Bay Stonewall Democratic Club Oakland Pride Breakfast and honored six individuals and organizations for providing leadership and promoting equality in the LGBTQI community.  Special Guest Speaker: Congresswoman Barbara Lee.

  • Educated our general membership about legislative bills of interests to the LGBTQI Community – SB179 Gender Identity & SB219 LGBT Senior Long-term Care Bill of Rights, and the Healthy California Act, SB562.

  • Joined Oakland Mayor Libby Schaaf to reaffirm that no resources shall be used for city business to North Carolina (in response to new legislation erroneously touted as “a repeal” of the discriminatory HB2 law)

  • Advocated on behalf of LGBTQI elders – the Trump administration was attempting to erase our Trans elders from a federal survey that determines how billions of dollars are spent on elder care and support.

  • Hosted a community forum on immigration policy and reform and its impact on the LGBTQI community with Oasis Legal Services, National Center for Lesbian Rights, Senator Nancy Skinner and Assemblymember Rob Bonta.

  • Successfully advocated Mayor Libby Schaaf on behalf of the re-appointment of our own board member Michael Colbruno to another term as a Port of Oakland Commissioner.

  • Successfully lobbied Piedmont City Council members to pressure the acting mayor to resign because of hostile comments directed at our trans community.

  • Joined Lambda Democratic Club of Contra Costa County to officially condemn Trump’s tweets banning transgender members from the military.

  • Hosted a community forum on the City of Oakland’s infrastructure and housing bond and Alameda County priorities with Alameda County Board of Supervisor Wilma Chan and Oakland’s Policy Director for Infrastructure and Transportation, Matt Nichols.

  • Wrote an open letter to Donald Trump on “Real Leadership” stating that Stonewall will continue to work every hour of everyday to make certain that this nation is one that welcomes and lifts up the health and wellbeing of workers, immigrants, Blacks, whites, Jews, Muslims, Transgender people, gays and lesbians.

As we move into 2018, please make sure to keep the following dates in your calendars:

East Bay Stonewall Holiday Social

Special Guest: Honorable John Bauters, Emeryville Mayor

January 17, 2018,   5:30-7:30 PM

The Port Bar

2023 Broadway, Oakland

East Bay Stonewall & Lambda Democratic Club Assembly District  15 - LGBTQI Candidates Forum

February 21, 2018, 6:00-8:00PM

Sports Basement

2727 Milvia St., Berkeley

East Bay Stonewall Annual Membership Meeting

Board Elections, Candidate Endorsements

March 21, 2018, 6:00-8:00PM

Location to be announced


Thank you again for your support.

In solidarity,

The East Bay Stonewall Democratic Club

Brendalynn Goodall, President

James Chang, Vice President

Nick Resnick, Secretary

Joaquin Rivera, Treasurer

Michael Colbruno, Political Action Chair

At-large members

Lori Droste

Kamika Dunlap

Joseph Greaves

Anne Marks

George Perezvelez

Ces Rosales

East Bay Stonewall Democratic Club. P.O. Box 10996, Oakland, CA 94610                    Contact us at: eastbaystonewalldems@gmail.com     

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software